Quick links:
 Latest Team Rankings
 Free Rivals Alerts
 Member Services
ShopMobileRadio RSSRivals.com Yahoo! Sports

February 14, 2013

Vonleh a McDonald's All-American

6-foot-8 forward Noah Vonleh was named to the East squad today for the April 3rd McDonald's All-American game. He becomes the 27th Hoosier to receive the honor and it's the third year in a row an Indiana signee has been named to the 24-man game.

Current Hoosiers Cody Zeller and Kevin "Yogi" Ferrell were named the prior two games.

No other Indiana signees were named this year. Mishawaka Marian guard Demetrius Jackson, a Notre Dame signee, is the only high school player from the state of Indiana to be named. He will join Vonleh on the East squad.

A native of Haverhill, Massachusetts, Vonleh plays for New Hampton Prep in New Hampshire, one of the long, traditional prep school powers in the East coast. Capable of playing either forward position, Vonleh was the last member of November's six man Indiana class to decide to become a Hoosier. He committed on November 10th, a day after attending Indiana's season opening win over Bryant.

Vonleh is current ranked at the No. 7 overall player in the Class of 2013 by Rivals.com.

"You can't go into a recruiting time period and think you're going to get somebody like that---the stars were aligned for us," said Tom Crean after signing Vonleh. "As talented and as skilled as he is, the upside is hard to imagine. He's got incredible length. I think he's 6-foot-8 with a 7-foot-4 1/2 wingspan. He fits what we're trying to do with that length and versatility in our program right now."

This year's game will be played at the United Center in Chicago. For complete rosters: Rivals.com story

Here's a year-by-year recap of Indiana University's 27  McDonald's All-Americans:

Tom Baker - 1977
Ray Tolbert - 1977
Landon Turner - 1978
Isiah Thomas - 1979
John Flowers - 1981
Daryl Thomas - 1983
Delray Brooks - 1984
Ricky Calloway - 1985
Jay Edwards - 1987
Eric Anderson - 1988
Greg Graham - 1989
Pat Graham - 1989
Damon Bailey - 1990
Alan Henderson - 1991
Sherron Wilkerson - 1993
Andrae Patterson - 1994
Neil Reed - 1994
Jason Collier - 1996
Luke Recker - 1997
Dane Fife - 1998
Jared Jeffries - 2000
Bracey Wright - 2002
D.J. White - 2004
Eric Gordon - 2007
Cody Zeller - 2011
Kevin "Yogi" Ferrell - 2012
Noah Vonleh - 2013

Indiana NEWS


Latest Headlines:

Rivals.com is your source for: College Football | Football Recruiting | College Basketball | Basketball Recruiting | College Baseball | High School | College Merchandise
Site-specific editorial/photos Peegs.com. All rights reserved. This website is an officially and independently operated source of news and information not affiliated with any school or team.
About | Advertise with Us | Contact | Privacy Policy | About our Ads | Terms of Service | Copyright/IP policy | Yahoo! Sports - NBC Sports Network

Statistical information 2014 STATS LLC All Rights Reserved.